3 months to go!

July 1, 1913: the official start of the Great Reunion at Gettysburg; 2:00 PM local time, fifty years to the day after the first day of the Battle of Gettysburg.

Today, April 1, 2013: 3 months to go until the 100th anniversary of the first day of the Great Reunion. Interestingly – and unfortunately – you can take a look at the current news over the Internet and see ALMOST NOTHING about the Great Reunion. In fact, as I was writing this blog post I did just that – I went to Google News and entered “Gettysburg 1913 reunion” into the search bar – and the only result that came back was a mention in the Gettysburg Times for the tour on April 21 to “walk in the footsteps of the 1913 veterans” (see my post on March 30th).

I’m hoping that over the next three months our national consciousness will awake with regards to the phenomenal event that occurred 99 years and 9 months ago as I’m writing this. I’m certainly trying to do my part between this blog and my novel, and beginning next week I will engage in an all-out blitz contacting writers of Civil War blogs; owners of Facebook pages; organizations such as the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War and the Sons of Confederate Veterans, the descendant organizations to the Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) and United Confederate Veterans (UCV), respectively; newspaper and magazine writers; and pretty much anyone else I can get to pay attention to the upcoming anniversary of the Great Reunion.

My request for anybody who comes across this blog, and in particular this entry, to join the effort. E-mail me at alan@alansimonbooks.com to connect; write a comment on any of the blog entries I’ve posted to date, or those that I’ll be posting over the next couple of months; or work your own networks that may have writers or others who can help spread the word about the Great Reunion itself as well as the upcoming 100th anniversary.

3 months to go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

